Non-small Cell - 4.5 years later small cell - anybody?

Diana

Hi everybody!  I am a newbie on the forum although I have been a member of LUNGevity for several years and have attended the Hope Summits in Washington, DC.  I am a 58 year-old female who was diagnosed with non-small cell stage IIIB in October 2014.  I had a very large tumor in my upper right lobe pressing on my vena cava.  Anyway, following radiation, chemotherapy, a lobectomy, oxygen therapy and rehabilitation, I had no evidence of disease for 4.5 years.  My routine CT scan in April of this year showed a slight change in my left bronchus.  A PET scan was ordered and that particular area is the only area that lit up.  I had a bronchoscopy and biopsy which initially came back as negative from pathology.  However, my slides were sent for further evaluation and that is where the small cell lung cancer was diagnosed.  I am told it is at limited stage.  This is in my "good" lung that had no no evidence of disease previously!  Do any of you have experience with non-small cell followed by NED, then diagnosed with small cell years later?  I realize attitude is extremely important and I have always been a very positive, upbeat type of girl, but this diagnosis almost hit me harder than my previous!  I am currently being treated in chem with Cisplatin and Etopiside three days week every three weeks and radiation every day, Monday through Friday for seven weeks.  Thank you in advance for any information any of you can provide! 

Diana,