Valuable patient experiences and support with Durvalumab Forum

DFK

Just spent the last 4 hours reading the wealth of information shared by Durvalumab users. I am 7 months in, 14 infusions behind me (2 infusions #9 and #10 held for symptomatic pneumonitis, infectious bronchitis, tachycardia and exertional SOB with resulting lowering of pulse oximetry saturation). Which was treated with high dose Prednisone and antibiotics. Diagnosed Lung CA Stage IIIA September 2018. 

I am a certified critical care Registered Nurse who have also spent years following patients in the home setting for both rehabilitation and Hospice. Despite my medical background, nothing prepares you for a cancer diagnosis. 

In my discussions with my physicians, I am pragmatic and expect to have a respectful peer to peer relationship. I fall apart emotionally at a later private moment when I am acclimating to my role as the patient and not my usual role of a healthcare provider. It is humbling. 

I am also a newbie to specialized Cancer treatments and have done my fair share of research with standards of practice for my Stage IIIA Lung Cancer.

Will post on Immunotherapy/Durvalumab Forum.

Hello and Welcome! 

The Durva Club is a wonderful group of people.  This Forum is a very supportive community where you will also find some other comrades in arms from the healthcare industry.  For those of us that were in the biz at the time of our diagnosis, it’s like being thrown into the deep end of the pool, having to learn a whole new language super fast.  The irony of our treatment is that for me, as a patient the “system” doesn’t work as well as it should. The cancer centers are a blessing, particularly the schedulers. They are the ones that really run the show.  Glad to meet you. Let us know how we can support you. 

Michelle