New to this site

Heidi O

Hi Everyone!

I was diagnosed with unresectable nsclc stage 3A adenocarcinoma in Oct. of 2018.  I first learned of Lungevity very recently and am happy to find and give support.  The diagnosis was a complete shock as I am a fitness enthusiast/professional fitness trainer for over 16 years.  I have never smoked, have lived a very clean life, and exercise daily.  I had no symptoms at all and this was an incidental finding through a CT scan when my doctor ordered one to evaluate an ovarian cyst.  Being 55 years old at the time and having a CA-125 tumor marker result of 36 (1 point above what is considered normal) my doctor ordered the scan to cover chest, abdomen, and pelvis.  The ovary looked fine, but a 2.5cm mass was found in my upper left lobe with 2  "plump" lymph nodes in my mediastinum.  Long story short, I have been responding well to treatment.  Chemo-radiation seemed to have been very effective and I will have my 19th immunotherapy infusion (Durvalumab) this week.  I am close to completing immunotherapy, if all goes well in early Jan.  I am curious if anyone has completed all 26 Durvalumab infusions and how they are doing post therapy.  I am terrified to stop treatment and "wait and watch" as the treatments seem to be helping, but who knows...

Hi Heidi!

Welcome to the family!! It’s so nice to meet you. Unfortunately your story sounds very familiar (I was a 51 yo competitive rower).  You’re “lucky” to have been diagnosed at Stage IIIa, it’s fairly rare.  Best wishes for reaching the one year mark!  It’s great you’ve been able to manage nearly the entire course of Durva!  

As you will learn, there is a wonderful set of friends in “The Durva Club” under the Immunotherapy section of this forum. They are having “fun” going through the uncharted waters together. 

I’m so glad you found us, this is the place where the Beatles had it right.... with a little (sometimes a lot) of help from your friends. 

Another Durvy! Rock n Roll!