Hi I’m new

BarbLu

Hi I’m a newbie. In July a very small tumor was found in my lung (found by accident) since I had no symptoms. I’m actually a 21 year Lymphoma patient and have a routine CT scan to make sure everything was ok. Well thank God I had the scan because they found lung cancer, stage 1a adenocarcinoma. By the way, never smoked a cigarette in my life! Anyway after doing the needle biopsy, I had 3/4 of my left lobe removed on August 29. They also removed about 5 lymph nodes, which were thankfully all clean! My prognosis is good, no further treatment needed, only CT scans every 6 months. It’s been about 7 weeks since surgery and I still am not back to myself! I still have some chest pain and do get a little winded. I feel like I should be all better by now, but the recuperation is taking longer than I anticipated. I guess I need to be patient!

Hi BarbLu,

Welcome.  Happy to hear they caught it so early! 

I also am a never smoker and surprise! turned out anyone with lungs is at risk for lung cancer (who knew, right? I didn't).

Although I stopped taking any pain killer 3 week post surgery (they removed my entire right lung) cuz I'm stubborn as a bull and a little (a lot) nuts 😜, everyone's body recovers differently, so, I'd say be patient and kind to yourself as you recuperate from the surgery.  Before you know it, you'll get there!

Let us know if any questions... lots of folks here with years of experiences...

MB

Hi @BarbLu.  I had a full upper right lobe lobectomy on February 28.  Much the same as you.  Found by accident.  Stage 1A.  No follow up treatment after surgery.  It took me about three months to get back to full lung function.  I still have some numbness and some discomfort around the incision area.  It does get better.  If you aren’t using it do the spirometer often, walk and exercise as much as possible.  You will improve.