New to fight - Spouse w/SCLC

FishOn

Good morning and happy Thanksgiving weekend.  Newbie here, as I just found the site.  Wife dx with SCLC in June 2019.  Although it was a larger (lemon size) tumor in the left lung, there was no initial sign of spread and she successfully went through chemo, radiation and PCI, we just received a call last night that her latest chest CT showed growth on left Adrenal growing.  This kind of shook us as we were led to believe we were looking at a Limited, Curative SCLC which was backed up with no MET on any CT or PET to this point.

She's scheduled for an abdominal CT with contrast next week, and an Onc apptmt that should tell us more.    Not sure what we're looking at from here.. if surgery to remove Adrenal is an option??  She's not been put on any immunotherapy up to this point, and we really want the Oncologists to treat this as aggressive as the cancer seems to be.   We apparently did not realize, (maybe in denial) how SCLC can spread.  Any insight on what we should expect?  We're very nervous that the doctors are going to be chasing this cancer throughout her body...   Thinking ya beat one, only for it to pop up in another spot.  Anything I should ask for from the doctors?  My head is kind of spinning, trying to think through this, so just going to end my first post right here.  Thanks.

Fishon,

Welcome here. Very sorry to learn of your wife’s recurrence. Frequent recurrence is what makes lung cancer so difficult to arrest. I’ve had 4 recurrences after no evidence of disease (NED) yielding treatments. 

I encourage you to consult with a radiation oncologist to learn if precision radiation (stereotactic body radiation therapy or SBRT) can fry that adrenal tumor. Note SBRT can be given in combination treatment with chemo and at this juncture, I’d advise the more treatment methods, the better outcome. 

Stay the course. 

Tom