Bone healing or cancer growing?

Dragonmew

Hello all,

this is my first time posting a question in this forum. I would appreciate your time for reading it and giving me your thoughts if you could. 

My mom was first diagnosed as adenocarcinoma metastatic to bone in February when she had a fracture in her right hip. A hip replacement surgery was done right away, and 5 day radiation was done after about 3 weeks from the surgery.  Then she was on xalkori for Met 14 skipping mutation.

She had a CT scan when evaluating xalkori in June, and that scan shows main tumor in lung was reduced by 70% in volume, and tumor in spine is stable.  However, they also found some increased sclerotic lesion in her right hip, and the tumor in her left hip was growing from 1cm to 1.6cm.  During that time the doctor couldn’t determine if the sclerotic lesion in right hip was caused by cancer or bone strengthening injection.  He said bone healing and cancer growing are somewhat Looking similar.  So he decided to switch to Capmatinib for her, treat left hip by another 5 day radiation, and give right hip some time to see if it can respond to Capmatinib well.  In addition, my mom will continue the bone strengthening injection every three months. By that ct scan, she had done one injection.

After about 5 months from the replacement surgery, my mom’s main complaint is weakness of the leg, and she feels she’s having difficulties to bend the right knee. However, after walking for a bit, she feels better and can walk normally. Right now she can walk without any supporting tool. X ray has shown thigh area and knee area are fine. The doctor is worried about Capmatinib is still not working as well enough as he thought, although he also said the discomfort could also be caused by the muscle which is still recovering from the surgery (done on 2/14/2020). He suggested another ct scan in two weeks.