New - Scared

Barbara H.

Hi Everyone, 

I've read all of your stories, you all seem so  brave and grown up!!!  I'm a 56 year old baby.  haven't had a  blood test  in over 30 years (and I only got  it  because I was getting married :)  )  So, family and friends wouldn't stop about  how I needed at least a Primary physician and some tests.  Finally went to one, and  figured since I'm there I'd mention that I read about a  Low Dose CT scan (no needles) and I asked him if  I  could get one since I've been smoking for about 42 years.  Well,  they saw a nodule, so got a PET scan and I have a 1cm nodule on  my lung.  Next week I'm going for a Wedgectomy (is that the  right word?) with the possibility of  a Lobectomy depending on the results after  they take the first chunk out.

I'm petrified of the  pre - op blood tests I need to get  on Friday (can  you believe how pathetic I am?)  Secondly, I'm afraid of the  chest tube removal, there's not many stories  online about the removal but the  3 or 4 I've found say it is  HORRIBLE!!!!!  Thirdly, I'm afraid that I  will need daily blood thinner injections.

It helps me, I think  :) , if  I  know exactly what's going to happen.  can someone share their  experience???

and thank you all for the help you didn't even know you gave me thus far!!!  ❤️    and best of luck to each of you on your  individual journeys.

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Barbara: Welcome to out group.  Since you started smoking at the age of 14 I hope you find the strength  to quit now. I smoked for 10 years and regret every moment.

First things first.  Do we know if the nodule is cancerous? Where is it located?  In any event, I would suggest finding a cancer center and let them do  all the testing necessary to determine your condition. Relying on a low dose scans might not be wise. Also don't sweat the small staff like tubes and needles. The nurses and doctors are so well trained they can do those things in their sleep.  Wish you the best.