Adam from Colorado - Recently diagnosed

Adam Shake

Good morning everyone. Just a quick hello.

15 year Vet. Desert Storm, Desert Sheild, Panama, Somalia and Bosnia. 53 years old and live in the most beautiful place in the world, Estes Park Colorado. My day job is Economic Development and I also run a nonprofit for Veterans and First Responders called Flinch Forward. Married with three adult children. My oldest is active duty Warrant Officer, Blackhawk pilot, daughter works corrections in FL and youngest teaches English in Japan.

I've been recently diagnosed with Stage IV NSCLC and am scheduled to talk to the Oncologist tomorrow about treatment options. Here's to the fight!

Hi Adam: Welcome to our place. Good to know you are a fighter by profession and you have the right attitude. That's half the battle to beat lung cancer. What a wonderful resume you have and thank you for your service to our country. You come to the right place where many of us share experiences and knowledge and never hesitate to answer questions or give advise. I assume you did all the necessary scans, blood tests and Biomarker Testing. If not  please spend some time to read the section "Recently Diagnosed what to do now" on the main page of the website. If you have any questions at anytime please do not hesitate to ask.

Again welcome and I wish you the best.

Adam,

Well met indeed. I'm a 22 year veteran with ODSS, Panama and a brief excursion to Somalia (worst smelling place I've ever been, Haiti was pretty bad also)!

My youngest brother is a retired Blackhawk driver commanding both Combat Aviation Battalion and Brigades during multiple combat tours in Iraq and Afghanistan, and my nephew (his son) is an Aviation Captain driving Blackhawks with the 82nd AB. We are an Army family (Dad was Army Air Force in WWII). I'm also a lung cancer survivor so we have a lot in common.

I'll just throw this out there as a vet-to-vet challenge to prime you for the fight: if I can live, so can you!