I’m Heather N

Heather N

I’m Heather N. I was diagnosed about 4 months ago with stage 4 small cell lung cancer. I guess I have to learn the official names. I just finished my 4th chemo infusion including Carboplatin,Alimta, and Keytruda. The plan is to eliminate the carboplatin going forward. I have an unusual mutation. Don’t know what it’s called. I’m in PA and my doctor says there my be a pill that can be used to treat it. He says it’s $10,000 per month. I’m a personal trainer and group fitness instructor and I continue to work, a bit. It seems to be all about staying strong. 

Hi Heather welcome. It looks like you are way ahead of many of us with your treatment schedule. We have quite few people on the same treatment and I am one of them. I will have my forth infusion in 2 weeks. As for the pill, that's a lot of money but it could be worth it. I understand from other posters that you can get it a discount and hopefully one of them will tell you how. Also if you can name your mutation or the name of the pill somebody will share their experience . 

How did the Carboplatin,Alimta, and Keytruda work so far? We call it the triplet.

Again welcome and if you have any other questions please don't hesitate to ask.

Hi Heather,

I wish you the very best and it's good new to hear that you may have one of the "mutations" that can be targeted with a kind of treatment that is an oral treatment versus chemo and immunotherapy.   I would ask you doctor to explain that to you, so that you know which one and then you can come here and talk to patients who are those types of treatments, which often work for very long periods.   Plus, no need for infusions, which many of us would be happy to give up.