I’m new to this and am a caregiver to my wife of 41 yrs..She is currently in Hospice care and I’m told she is close to the end of her life. I’m not sure I am on this forum correctly as a caregiver.

Well if this is the right forum and I can post, here I go.

I’m taking care of my wife and the Hospice nurses tell me my wife is close to the end of her journey. When her O2 drops dangerously low she takes her oxygen off and becomes very combative and confused and makes statements that don’t make sense. Once I get her oxygen back in. the 80-90 % range she gets better on all fronts but seems confused all the time. I’m sure it’s the amount of drugs I’m giving her every 4 hours around the clock but feel inadequate and guilty as well as anger at times.

Anyone have any advice ?

I think that she is so fortunate to have you beside her. I have seen many folks go on ahead of us, many alone and afraid. Blessings and prayers to both of you. Stay strong and take of yourself. 

I'm glad that the nurses are preparing you. They know better than doctors when someone is nearing the end of life, and confusion is part of her process. Please be sure to stay in communication with the nurses. The hospice provider can send someone to stay with you and your wife toward the end. You may also want to connect with their social worker about your feelings. What you're experiencing is completely understandable, and they should be able to give you some emotional support. 

Watching a loved one go through this is extremely difficult. Forgive yourself for your emotions. You are doing your best for your wife. 

May she reach the end of her journey in peace. All the best. 

Hello and welcome,