Question

TJM

All,

My current insurance is Kaiser. Lot of nice things about Kaiser....the biggest benefit is no arguments about bills.

Problem is is that I dont get the feeling they are cutting edge.  My son got very sick with aplastic Anemia years ago and was treated at OHSU. His doctors were awesome and I have nothing but positive feelings about them. Plus they saved his life and he is now a very energetic young man.

To get to my question...its open enrollment right now and I am considering changing my insurance. Has anyone done that while in the midst of the struggle?  I want more control of my doctors, but what I really want is an oncologist who relates to me. I know that the fact I'm an Engineer makes me a difficult patient but now that the first line treatment is over I think it might be a good time to switch?

Any and all advice is welcome.

Peace

Tom

Tom,

I am assuming with Kaiser you don’t get to choose your own Doctor?  That’s it an HMO where you’re treated within their family of Physicians?  If that’s the case, If it were me, I would definitely change Insurance.  I cant imagine not being able to choose where and who I get my care from.  I currently am getting care from both my oncologist here, my choice and also from the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, also my choice.  I’m sure you’re getting excellent care and there’s something to be said about not having to fight with Insurance.  It’s a personal preference.  

Take care,

Babs

I switched insurance during open enrollment after my lobectomy three yeas ago, to a plan that permits me to go out-of-network. Of course, in-network saves a ton of money and all my providers have been in-network, but I figured if anything got complicated down the road (like it is now) and I wanted, for whatever reason, to be treated out of network, I wanted to have the option to do that.

When you're dealing with a serious illness, I think getting the most flexible plan you can afford makes sense.