Hello to all!

Brent H.

Greetings everyone/ My name is Brent and recently came across this forum doing research on what my issue with my lungs is. Currently live in Oklahoma and working for the Army. I am a Navy vet, father, husband, and grandfather. My wife is currently undergoing treatment for thyroid cancer. 

As a short story I will tell you how this all started. Back at the beginning of the year my wife and I went to a home and garden show at the state fairgrounds. We came across a booth that was offering a couple's discount for a head and chest CT scan for $199. We decided to go ahead and do it since I had Covid back in November and was curious what the damage to my lungs was. After the scan we both received our results. That spur-of-the-moment decision is what led to us finding my wife's cancer and possibly saving her life(as it had metastasized and spread to a couple of lymph nodes). My scan showed a 1.5x1.1x1.4 cm irregular nodule in my right, lower lobe. They suggested I contact my primary care physician (VA) for follow up. After reviewing the report he said to wait 3 months and we would do a CT with contrast. I looked at the report yesterday and there were changes noted.

The findings were as follows:

Within the inferior medial aspect of the right lower lobe, the posterior basilar segment there is a pleural-based spiculated 1.5 x 1.2 cm lesion measured on series 6 image 69 coronal series which is concerning for malignancy. There is centrilobular and paraseptal emphysematous changes which are greatest in the upper lobes bilaterally. Along the right minor fissure there is a smoothly marginated noncalcified 4 mm nodule, likely an intrapulmonary lymph node. Second pleural-based 2 mm nodule along the minor fissure image 275. Within the right middle lobe 3 mm noncalcified nodule image 324. Some platelike atelectasis in the inferior lingula. 2 mm noncalcified nodule right upper lobe series 3 image 154.