PET results came in

Brent H.

I got the results in from my PET scan that I had done week before last. I had a follow up shortly after with my Primary Care. He didn't really have any info for me though. What he gave was a sheet with this info on it:

: The posterior basal right lower lobe lesion of interest on
axial image 154 measures 1.2 x 1.6 cm with SUV of 2.2. There are
emphysematous changes in bilateral lungs, worse in the right
upper apex. In the mediastinum there are multiple right
pretracheal FDG avid lymph nodes, representative of which is a
1.6 x 0.8 cm node on axial image 112 with SUV of 6.1. There is a
1.3 x 0.7 cm subcarinal node with SUV of 4.5 on axial image 127.
Physiologic activity is noted in the myocardium. There is
bilateral axillary lymphadenopathy with minimal FDG uptake, with
maximum SUV of 1.4, likely reactive.

I assume all of this is nothing of a major concern. I am no doctor so most of this is gibberish to me other than the measurements and that's about all I can decipher. On my previous CT the lymph nodes were not noted on that report. I'm not too worried by this but any insight is welcomed.

Edit: I have a bronchoscopy scheduled for Friday morning.

Well, the FDG uptake on some of those lymph nodes is a bit high. The lower right nodule they apparently were concerned about doesn't have a very significant uptake, but sometimes they don't, even when they are cancerous. You can't definitively diagnose lung cancer from a PET CT, but I'd suggest a consult with either a pulmonologist or an oncologist. At the very least, you should probably have another CT scan in a few months--but I'd get a lung expert in the picture, rather than just your PCP.

8 minutes ago, LexieCat said: