Medical hell-week

LexieCat

The one thing I dislike about clinical trials is all the dang TESTING and other procedures in the run-up to treatment. This week, I had labs drawn, brain MRI, chest Xray, and CT scans, as well as meeting with pulmonologist who will do bronchoscopy next week. After that, I should be good to start treatment on 11/29. I have to give them credit at Penn--once I completed the paperwork, everything has been scheduled FAST.

I liked the pulmonologist a lot. He asked why I was there (he hadn't gotten word of the scheduled biopsy yet, though he found it on his computer while I was there) and, after chatting for a bit, he asked me what I did for a living. He laughed when I told him and he said he would have guessed something in the medical field, since I seemed very knowledgeable and made reference to the abscopal effect. I told him I just hang out with a lot of smart people, lol. I hope he's the one who will do my on-trial biopsy in mid-December--not that I'll have too many dealings with him, but it's nice to feel like you know the doctor who's working on you.

Anyway, will be glad to get this show on the road. Hopefully the side effects won't be too daunting--apparently it has been for quite a few participants. At least I seem to do fine with Keytruda, so hopefully that's a good sign.

Holy mackerel Lexie.  That is one load of tests.  I remember my wife participating in a trial for a new macular degeneration drug and (at the time) I thought that she went through a lot of testing before the trial until I just saw what you listed.  Hang in there, you'll be in trial soon and my hope is great results for you.  Have they discussed the side-effects they's observed to this point?  Hopefully your compatibility with Keytruda will portend low complications with the trial.  You're always on my list.

Lou

4 minutes ago, LouT said: