Tracheoesophageal fistula from lymph nodes

Kli233

Hi everyone,

I have been lurking on this forum for a while, but this is my first time posting and I was hoping to get some advice and help.

My mom was diagnosed with stage 4 NSCLC in May of this year, mets to both lungs and lymph nodes in neck and chest. She had 5 days of palliative radiation to a large area in her chest and lower neck and then started on targeted therapy in July.

Last week she suddenly started having a fever and coughing up lots of mucus whenever she tried to swallow. She was admitted to the hospital for pneumonia and they later found a tracheoesophageal fistula as the source of the issues. They're thinking the fistula was a result of a lymph node metastasis in that area.

They're preparing to put in a stent to temporarily block the hole so that she can swallow again, but looking online, the prognosis does not look very good with this approach... We asked about surgery to remove the lymph node and repair the hole, but the surgeon said they wouldn't be able to do that...

Does anyone have experience with this or know about any good treatment options available?

Thanks so much!

Kli,

Welcome here. Pardon my brevity. I’m responding on a cell phone and my thumbs do not have the dexterity of youth!

A tracheoesophageal fistula is nasty. The esophagus tissue is too flimsy to allow a surgical repair. And I’ve had 4 stent insertions in my trachea to bolster a bronchus stump suture repair. My actual problem was sutures holding on the stump. The stent was used to bolster the area to allow sutures to heal and hold. 

The stents caused a myriad of problems for me. First tracheal irritation caused intense coughing fits and this resulted in stent movement. The remedy was to install a longer stent and that held firm but again the irritation caused intense coughing compounded by lots of mucus production.