I'm New around here......

ToniH

Hi Everyone, I am a newbie around here.  My surgery went well and starting chemo any day now. My lung cancer is stage 3b and I need to talk about it how I feel about cancer and what is going on with my body and inside me, but my family is too scared and doesn't understand why.  Looking for honest open discussion about comes next if the chemo and treatments fail. I am a realist and straight shooter, don't want fluff or rainbows and unicorns. Thanks 

ToniH,

Welcome to the club nobody wants to be a member of.  Sorry you need to be here.  Our group is large and diverse.  You'll find people here who were "never smokers", smokers, those diagnosed at all different stages and many that have had a large breadth of treatments.  So, you can tell us all you want about what you're feeling, going through or just ask any questions you have and you'll find a willing audience and sound advice (when requested).  In the meantime one of our members wrote an excellent piece called, "10 Steps to Surviving Lung Cancer; by a Survivor" and you can find it here.  We look forward to getting to know you and can also assure you that there are a lot of survivors here that will give you hope.

Lou

Hi Toni. If you feel like it, let us know some details about your chemo. In the meantime, check out this website created and maintained by Cleveland Clinic. It provides info on side effects and options to address them for each type of chemo. I'm also going to give you this tidbit: don't Google statistics. They are crap. They don't take you or your situation into account, nor do they include stats based on latest treatments. There have been so many new treatment options introduced in the last few years. I tell you this as someone who, statistically, shouldn't be here. 

Ask us anything. We are all here for you.

Toni,

I'll add my welcome to Lou and Susan.