Introducing & Stage IV -- Looking for forums

Oceanna

THANK YOU to those survivor stories, especially you, Tom. It has given me hope.

This is my first time at a blog, so bear with me!!

I have stage IV, NSCLC, adenocarcinoma (non-squamous). I had (robotic) wedge resection in Jan 2020; spots outside of lung area appeared by end of year. In Jan 2021, had regimen of chemo (carboplatin and Taxol (plant-based)) and radiation (another doc - long story - recommended Carbo & Alimta); followed by immunotherapy (Durvalumab) that I stopped this week. Original spots (hilar area, etc) shrunk but some new ones appeared around ribs/chest area and lower boney area (illiac, sacrum and acetabulum) by end of 2021 (while others DISappeared).

Biopsy last week on iliac spot showed it is adenocarcinoma; genetic testing on original specimen showed two mutations, for KRAS & TMB. Path forward recommendation is targeting KRAS with sotorasib (brand LUMAKRAS) that received FDA accelerated approval last May 2021.

I have a million questions and am looking for forums, especially, re:

These targeting drugs (especiallu sotorasib/Lumakras)

Stage IV cancer

Nice to meet you all!

Welcome Oceanna,

Your mutation must be KRAS G12C for that is the variant that the KRAS inhibitor Lunmakras is approved to treat. And as you mentioned, the FDA only recently approved this drug in May 2021. I'm not sure how many folks we have on the forum with Lunmakras experience, but let's try and cast a wide net.

Anyone with Lunmakras treatment experience please chime in and give us the benefit of your experience.

Stay the course.

Tom

Hi Oceanna,

I am still doing first-line treatment (keytruda plus radiation) for NSCLC adenocarcinoma stage 4. I have also been looking everywhere for info on sotorasib, as this would likely be my second line (fingers crossed I won’t need it). So apologies for latching on to your post - do post any good forums you find.

Good luck w your treatment, Rikke

7 hours ago, Oceanna said: