Tagrisso vs. Gilotrif? Please Share Your Experience

Karen_L

I am EGFR positive: S768i (exon 20)  and L858R (exon 21). I'll be having gamma knife for a small brain met. The current plan is to start me on Tagrisso. But I've read stuff that suggests an earlier generation TKI--Gilotrif (afatinib)-- followed by Tagrisso on progression is a more effective path. The caveats: the study I'm looking at talks about this sequence as being effective for exon 19 deletions, S768I is an exon 20 substitution mis-sense mutation. 

I'd love to hear any experiences people have had with this decision, these medications, anything related to these mutations. Thanks in advance,

Karen

Gilotrif-Tagrisso sequence.pdf

Karen,

I have no experience with any immuno or chemo therapy so I can't help, but I will be watching this post to see what answers come in.

Lou

I was put directly on Tagrisso for Exon 19 deletion even though I did not have brain mets. There was no consideration of an earlier generation drug. Maybe post this question to the Facebook group LUNGevity Targeted Therapies Group? 

Thanks, Judy M2. I called the cancer center, explained my anxiety about the medication choice, and said I didn't know who'd be best to talk to. They had the oncology pharmacist call, which I think was a brilliant move. We had a good chat about mutations and matching TKIs; he suggested I message my oncologist via MyChart with a few sentences about my concerns. He also referenced the NCCN guidelines, which I looked at before my onc. responded. Those calmed me down.

I also spoke to someone in my cancer group and he reminded me that at some point, lung cancer treatment is basically a "throw stuff at it and see what works"  proposition. The oncologists's response was a straightforward explanation of her reasoning. It made complete sense to me. I am moving ahead with Tagrisso, which is a long, drawn out process....