180 Days.

DeanCarl

On Sept 26, 2003 I went to work. I'd been feeling "not right" for almost a year and earlier that month had gotten sick with what I thought was a bad cold or the flu. On the 24th I went to an urgent care where the doctor diagnosed me with pnuemonia, took a chest x-ray and sent me home with some anti-biotics and told me to check back in 3 days to get the results of the x-ray. I was still not feeling real good on the 26th but decided to go to work anyway. I was a city bus driver at the time. I took over the route I was scheduled for that day, made one round trip (about 2 hrs) and could not lift my arms over the steering wheel! I called in for a relief driver (something I'd NEVER had to do before) and, after being relieved, went to the urgent care to see if they had gotten the results from the x-ray in early. They had and I was told that, yes, I did have pnuemonia .... but ... there was "something else" in there.

That was the start, for me, of this journey we all are on. It took a month to get my final dx (see below), but I consider the day I heard those words, "something else" to be the day that cancer entered my life.

I won't go into all the things that have happened so far. Those of you that have been here bofore me have been right there beside me the whole way. Those of you who've come after know the journey WAY too well anyway.

I would like to do something I don't do much ... and that is to let you all know how things are with me now. Physically not much has changed since that day I could no longer drive my bus. I'm a bit weaker and there is a bit more pain, but nothing that I can't work around or control. I still only have to use my oxygen on a PRN basis and yesterday I got a nebulizer for my combi-vent that works a lot better than the inhaler I was using.