please help me

Andrea

This is about the So Cal Walk

I received a joint phone call from my parents and my inlaws voicing their concerns and I am going to be honest about what they said and see if anyone wants to be on a committe or what you think or ideas, etc.

The concerns are as follows:

1. I have no fundraising experience

2. I work full time as an attorney and my time is limited.

3. I get stressed easy.

4. Because I want to do this to raise money for and on behalf of LCSC, I have to take out my own insurance and hence risk all liability personally; rather than having a larger organization with insurance such as American Cancer Society or ALCASE behind.

They are concerned that without a committe of people to help with flyers, obtain raffle prizes, getting food, getting sponsors, making into a successful event, etc, that I cannot possibly do it alone and can't do it withut a team.

Apparently my husband's colitis attack was most likely prompted by stress, which equates to me and my obsession with this disease.

My parenets and inlaw suggest that I fundraise or do something in a different way, OR get a committee behind me so this is all not on my shoulders b/c they don't think I can handle it all alone.

I am in tears right now. I really don't know what to do. I was sooooooo excited about finding a venue, making contacts, I want to fundraise. In a way I see their point about the risk, if I takeout insurance myself for the event and anyone gets hurt, it is my butt.

Can someone please help me or give me suggestions? I got into a big fight with my parents about this b/c I was so upset that they are bringing this up now and they were upset I would not listen to their concerns, and then they made Brian get on the phone and Brian said I cannot do this alone, I can do it with others.