Stoping chemo?

BoBennett

Hello to all those gutsy folks who decided not to go chemo or radiation. I am looking into stopping chemo at some point,. for no other reason than I think it will ultimately compromise my immune system and I believe that our bodies are the ultimate fighting weapon. I don’t know for sure, if and when, as I’m just beginning to look into it. I am (relatively) healthy at this point and I was not prior to chemo. Yet something in me tells me it wasn’t the chemo that got me back up and even if it was I am in a better position than prior to chemo. Any one out there with experience at stopping chemo while in decent health and how did it go. It is a strange roller coaster ride. In the beginning when I was diagnosed and was down, my thoughts were to not take chemo and such, and basically let the disease take its course. Now that I feel (relatively) good the fight is on. What worries me is that if I quit chemo, and I begin to feel down I may lose that fight I have now. I kow these are mostly question only I can answer but I am just wondering how it goes for others. There is a way to win at this disease, we just have to find it!!!!!.

Bo

You and I are kind of opposite places. I chose no chemo while I was feeling good and took many things to strengthen my immune system to not only fight the cancer but to get strong in case I decided to do Chemo or rad. Over the past 4-6 weeks I began to experience fatigue--no weight loss, just tired. Other than that, I feel better than at DX and had no chemo. Scans three months after DX showed microscopic progression--nothing really.

I just feel there has been progression lately. A little less stamina and a little more SOB going upstairs and exertion in humidity.

I don't know what you were told, but I was told no chemo would cure me or give me more than 3 months or so longer than without.