newbie here too....mom w/ nsclc

abbyall

Hi everyone

I have so many questions- don't really have a clue where to start.

My mom had surgery to remove a portion of her right lung just this past week. We had our first appt. w/ her oncologist yesterday......

sounds as if they will soon start radiation. We will go for brain mri, ct scans and bone scans within the next several days.

I hope to be able to get in touch w/ a social worker from the hospital- as when they released her- NO ONE had spoken to the family about her support systems that were in place to make sure she was cared for. My mom lives alone. I've basically walked away from my job and family- husband and 3 kids.....to live there with her and care for her. Her surgeon gave me the impression that she should be well enough to care for herself in just a few weeks time, but i've come to the realization thats not very practical advice........dr appts alone are going to be alot from the looks of it.

I don't know where to turn- I dont want to abandon my mother - but I must work. Another factor in all this is my husband is also facing possible cancer. He goes tomorrow for bone marrow biopsy. What WILL I do if he is facing long term health issues too? I need to find info and caregiver support

can i scream now? LOL

Abby

Yes, Abby, you can always scream. Just do it in a safe place.

I think talking to the social worker is a great idea. Try calling the American Cancer Society also. They have programs where they drive patients to chemo and such. I called them when I was first diagnosed in 93. They were very helpful and comforting.

I found 1-800-4CANCER helpful as well.

Do you have a minister to talk with? With my last cancer, I spent time with him and that was helpful as well. Church brought me dinners.

Stay on this site. We're here.

• 3 years later...
"abbyall"]Hi everyone

I have so many questions- don't really have a clue where to start.