CT scans show more cancer....

rlrose

Wayne's CT of his head showed no brain mets, which is some good news. But the CT of his chest shows that lung tumor has grown and now there are liver and adrenal mets, too. He already has quite a few bone mets in his joints causing him lots of pain.

We are so discouraged since he had 6 weeks of lung radiation and the cancer was progressing during that time. He has lost more weight in the last few weeks and says nothing tastes good anymore. Probably a result from the WBR. The onc. agrees that he is not a candidate for chemo.

He has an appointment with a naturopathic doctor next week to see if there is something else we might try. He has been taking supplements, eating no sugar, no processed foods, very little meat. Nothing seems to be slowing the cancer....

Roanna

Roanna,

Sorry Wayne is not doing well. Obviously I don't know the details and I'm not a medical professional, but it seems like chemo. would help him at least something with fewer side effects like Iressa. Know that I am praying for you both and for the doctor's to have wisdom. Take care.

Roanna,

Sorry to hear the news about Wayne, but glad no brain mets at least. My memory is a bit fuzzy, why is Wayne not a candidate for chemo? Steve had cancer in all those places, plus bone & brain mets and he has had chemo and is now on Iressa. Nothing wrong with getting 2nd, 3rd opinions not only from a different doctor, but also a different medical group (heard that sometimes docs within the same system are reluctant to contradict each other). Just seems like you're not getting many options.

Roanna,

I am terribly sorry that Wayne is not doing so well.

I tooo don't understand, why no chemo?

Has the doctor given up? If you want to try chemo,then find a doctor who will give you that option. It is Wayne's decision to stop treatment, not the doctor's.

Praying for you during this difficult time,

XOXOXOXOX

MaryAnn