first post in a while

Benny boy

I don't know if anyone remembers my last post (well over a month ago), but I wanted to update my mom's, and my own situation, just to get a little feedback. First, my mom was diagnosed July 11 with nsclc and cancer in her fluid (IIIB). After a subsequent mri and pet scan, we found out that she has brain mets and no sign of bone mets, even though the drs were sure she had it in her bones (yay). Anyway, she's been doing carbo-taxol chemo since the first week after diagnosis, she's on iressa, zometa, and other stuff, just finished whole brain radiation, and is not scheduled for any more tests for the next few weeks.

Some good things. Her hair was getting thinner, and when it got thin enough that she was afraid it was going to fall out, she decided to go ahead and shave it. Turns out she has a full head of stuble! She never lost her hair, that scares some people in my family, because they think that means the chemo isn't working. I am not a doctor or a fortune-teller, so I don't try to figure it out. On that note, she has one of those good bald heads, so we all joke about how maybe it can just be her new look. The other good thing is that I happen to be good friends with a lot of sons of doctors. My best friend's dad happens to be the head of stereotactic radio surgery at overlook hospital in new jersey, and he's the only guy for hundreds of miles that uses "cyber-knife", which I guess means he won't have to screw the brace onto her head. He's also calling his "boy's" for advice at Mass General and Sloan, just to make my mom feel better, (even though he tells me that it's not really necessary).