General thoughts on surgery for NSCLC IIIA?

mandy

Welcome Mandy, sorry you have the need to find us, but I'm very glad you did.

As to your question, my uneducated answer is: HOG WASH!! WIVES TALE!! NOT TURE! This information I am sharing with you came from several doc's that I have talked to over the years and although these are NOT the political correct words they used, they ARE the words I use being I'm NOT a doctor. :wink:

I had my left lung removed 9 years ago, and.......... I'm cancer free still today! There are MANY people just like me!

God Bless and Best Wishes to your Mom.

From experience:

I was not considered a possible IIIa prior to surgery, neither was Hebbie. DURING surgery, the "possible I or II" was re-staged as a IIIa. Surgery was continued, treatment for the two of us was different after that...

Another person that had IIIa discovered during surgery was closed back up to do chemo and radiation prior to surgical removal. The second surgery never happened.

Others that are known to be IIIa prior to surgery seem to be treated prior to surgery and then again after surgery...

I guess it all just depends, nothing is black and white - except that cancer is BAD.

Different tumors, different doctors, different procedures...same fight...

...and I don't think cancer is spread by surgery nor exposure to oxygen. I believe that debate has gone on before on the board...

Take care,

Becky

I agree with everything said above. If I had it to do all over again, I would have had those doctors take out everything they could get their hands on, heal up, do the chemo and the radiation and the iressa and everything else on the back end, and take our chances. I don't know that it would have made any difference. And if Becky had died that why, I would probably be saying that we should have done the chemo first. But I agree with Heather and Becky and think that if surgery is an option at all, go for it and see what happens next.

Curtis