Just started treatments, any advice

Hopeful

Hi, I have never done anything like this before, but I'm so scared that I needed some advice or something, not sure what... My husband of 32 great years has stage 4 nsclc, that has mets into his liver. He had his 1st chemo of Taxol, Carboplatin and Gemzar this past Mon. Then next Mon., he justs gets the Gemzr. Then off the next week for some tests. He is very ill from it, sores in his mouth, which the medicine hasn't helped yet. Very weak and tired. Is it this bad after every treatment, or does it get any easier? I'm afraid he won't be able to withstand it for the whole 6 months they are talking about. (if he doesn't , show any worsening of his tumors) Please anyone with a similar case please give me some advice. God bless you all and a full and speedy recovery.

Dear Hopeful,

I am so very sorry you have the need to be here, yet, I am very glad you choose to join us.

As for your husband's treatments. Everyone is different in this journey.

Some patients get very ill side effects and some of them get worse before they get better. Then there are those that have a few bad days and as treatments go on, they do very well. There is NO one set answer to this question. I for one will hope and pray he will get better as treatments go on. Try not to look to far ahead into the treatment future, as to will he make it to those treatments will he be strong enough. Not a good idea my dear. We here at LCSC try to portray the POSITIVE side of being a Lung Cancer Survivor. Not to say we don't have our down days and our sick days, because we all do or have. But, we offer hope here, only because so many of us have found that "mind over matter, DOES matter"! Positive Attitudes do help in this journey. This is NOT an easy journey at times, but it IS doable. Ask questions, ask lots of question, don't be afraid to ask questions. Someone here will have an answer for you, along with support and warmth.