RFA Lung

Terri

I REALLY like your treatment approach. I am new to this. My husband was diagnosed with Stage IV NSC LC just a few weeks ago.

I want to learn more about RFA. How did you find the doctors who did your procedures? We live in upstate NY. Although NJ is a manageable distance, I would prefer to find a doctor in New York City, where we can stay with friends.

I have found via the internet a doctor in New York City who performs Gamma Knife.

I asked our radiation oncologist about Gamma Knife. He says my husband needs to do Whole Brain Radiation first because of the number and size of brain tumors (4 lesions, largest is 3 cm.) Should I accept his assessment or should I pursue treatment on my own? It is hard for me to "question authority" but I can do it if it is necessary.

It sounds as if you are managing your own treatment. Did you approach the RFA and Gamma Knife doctors on your own or did someone refer you? What are the scans that you do every 3 months - CT or PET?

I love your philosophy to treat NSC LC as a chronic problem instead of a terminal one.

Terry

My mom just had whole brain radiation she had a lot of lesions, probably more than 8. However the radiation oncologist we saw at Sloan said that if the patient had up to 4 lesions he would consider treating them steriotactically or individually instead of whole brain. I’m not a Dr. and I don’t know your husbands case but I remember hearing our doc say that. We are going to the Sleepy Hollow branch of sloan near Terrytown. Feel free to PM me for more info.

Geoff

Thanks Terri and Geoff,

Thank you Terri for the detailed account of how you are handling your treatment. You are an inspiration for me and I am impressed with your logical approach. We must all find our own path and your testimony is definitely going to help us find ours.