As if these Guys did not Have enough to worry about

RandyW

Hidden risk: Firefighters' cancer rates higher than average

By William H. Newland

Post Comment

I am painfully aware of the risks firefighters face on a daily basis in the performance of their duties, as I did the job as a City of Binghamton firefighter for 24 years. I am further aware that firefighters face additional risks of contracting cancer when compared to the general population.

During my tenure as a firefighter, I also served for several years as president of I.A.F.F. Local 729, the union representing the Binghamton firefighters. It was in his capacity as union president that I became aware of the added risks of my chosen profession -- that firefighters have a much greater risk of being diagnosed with a number of different cancers. In fact, a number of national studies have shown that career firefighters face a four times greater risk of being diagnosed with kidney cancer than someone who is not a firefighter. The occurrence rates are staggering for other cancers too: bladder cancer is three times, skin cancer three times, testicular cancer two and half times, melanoma two and a quarter times, liver and intestine cancer two times, and prostate cancer and non-Hodgkins lymphoma both have a two times greater occurrence rate in the firefighters.