Not Lung Cnacer but very inspirational!!!

RandyW

Local Singing Star Gets Stomach Removed

Updated: Wednesday, 20 Jan 2010, 9:55 PM CST

Published : Wednesday, 20 Jan 2010, 7:01 PM CST

MELISSA WILSON

Health Reporter

HOUSTON - Troy Allan from Beaumont had just lost his "day job" and was about to lose health insurance, so he underwent medical tests to make sure "everything was OK."

At first, his doctor told him he was "the picture of health."

That very day to celebrate his good health, he quickly scarfed down a pizza. He started having severe stomach pains and passed out from the horrific feeling.

He contacted his doctor and basically had to beg for an "Upper GI exam," to take a close look at his stomach. His doctor finally agreed and was shocked at what he found out.

"The doctor's eyes were this big around and said I've been doing this for 15 years and have never seen anything like your stomach. I don't know what it is - but it's bad."

The doctor was right.

Troy had the most aggressive type of cancer there is, called Linitis Plastica. It forms like veins in between layers of the stomach wall.

Patients seldom have any symptoms, so it is usually much too late and patients don't survive. Troy will even be in medical text books now, because he is believed to be the earliest case to ever be diagnosed.

Doctors have high hopes for Troy. He's undergone six months of chemotherapy and radiation and just had his stomach removed.

Throughout it all, he showed up every day with his guitar during chemo. He was inspiring patients at Texas Oncology- Beaumont Mamie McFaddin Ward Cancer Center, up until the day before his big surgery. He shares with them an incredibly touching song called "I Can." He wrote it when his dad was suffering from lung cancer.

Patients are touched that he gives them hope, while he fights for his own life.