Need info for my dad

keo4

Hi,

My dad just got diagnosed with SCLC last week. They said it was in bewteen the lobes (airway?) and has gotten to his lymph nodes but not sure where else. His only symptom was a cough for a couple of weeks. I was wondering if anyone could help me decipher terminology and what some of the tests are being done for. Our family has no experience with any sort of cancer so I feel sort of ignorant and want to be well informed. Unfortunately, I'm a cognitive neuroscience student which doesn't help my dad too much. He is going to have a bone density scan tomorrow and had another brain MRI today (I suppose to check to see if the cancer has spread beyond the nodes). He will get all his results back on friday and meet with the radiologist. His oncologist said that they weren't sure about Chemo yet. He is going to start radiation treatments soon. I was wondering if they do the radiation treatments first before they do chemo (is this normal)? I was also wondering what the side effects of radiation are? He was concerned about incontinence and nausea? He said that this coming friday they were going to do a "sim". What is this? If anyone can give me any info, tips or anything that they might feel useful, please drop me a line.

Keo...