Hoping for a reply

Guest Sally

Hi, I am currently going through the "I-want-to-know-everything-but-the-prognosis" stage about my brother's adenocarcinoma.

I only joined this site recently and am trudging my way through all the messages.

You people are an inspiration and I nearly always end up crying as you are all so caring.

I have the delight of dealing with my brother's emotions on top of the fact that he is a teenager :roll::roll::!:

I think he's coping better than I am as he is in denial. What young person wouldn't be?

Most of the people I've read about have only been diagnosed in 2003. Is there anyone out there with stage II for a longer time.

I'd love to hear from you.

Praying every day for a cure.

Why can't you hear me God?

Sally

My mom has NSCLC, she was diagnosed in Jan 2002. I believe she would have been diagnosed at least a year or 2 earlier, had she even gone to the doctor; she had the symptoms and just looked really ill.

I'm still learning about this disease, as I'm sure you and your family are too.

I don't want to step on any toes here, after all, I'm new, and I'm not the one who actually has the disease, but I think if you've got a will to survive, that certainly must aid in fighting the illness.

Karen

There are many, many Stage II and higher long term survivors here on this board.

As far as prognosis goes, no one knows that, so why even ask? Estimates are just that, estimates. Also a lot of that information is outdated and, your brother is young. That definately is a positive. If he is otherwise very healthy, that is a positive.

I think attitude plays a big role in survival. He should recover from surgery very easily, if chemo is required, he should tolerate that well. Remember a lot of lung cancer patients are older people, and may have other health issues too, such as cardiac, etc. All of that information must be taken into consideration when prescribing chemo and performing surgery.