Taxotere

jaminkw

eeny meeny....Don't know if taxotere is given specifically to NSCLC or not so am putting this here. If you are a moderator and think another thread would be more appropriate, feel free to move it.

I am not good at documenting and miss Ned terribly. If he had done your treatment, you could come here and find any facts relevant to it. I'd have to check my calendar to see exactly when I started on Taxotere but I know this last Thursday was my eighth infusion. So here goes how it's gone since then.

1. Hair loss: Was told by a dr on cancergrace.org that loss definitely occurred by the second infusion. I'd had four before it started to fall out gradually. Some infusions more, some less. Seems to be no rhyme or reason to it. So far I have probably half my thick head of hair so am showing balding primarily where my hair parts and along the front hairline. Found a product called DermMatch. It's great. A powder with a large cosmetic style applicator. Stan does the obvious spots and so far I'm good to go. Have probably also lost half my eyelashes but retain enough to do some mascara. Eyebrows also fading but the DermMatch does a better job of fixing them than any pencil or quality eyebrow powder. When they are all gone, I'll check back with Judy in MI who mentioned something that is more a clay, I think I recall, and is feathered on and looks very natural.

2. Nausea: More after the early infusions but before long a compazine in the evening for 5-7 days beginning with day of infusion followed by a Zofran when needed mid morning took care of it. Haven't needed the Zofran for the last several post-infusion times.