Lupus?

Doughnut

I'm going to confess right off that I've had a bad few weeks and the worst part about it is that Claire's been feeling ill. It transpires that she's felt unwell for over a month now but didn't mention it to me until very recently. She only told me then because she thought the cancer had returned.

Anyway, to cut a long story short they think she's still NED but she may have lupus. What the he*l is lupus? I mean I've heard of it but I don't know what it is. Claire said something about her immune system but if she's got something else going on... I'm in a bit of a panic to be honest.

Can anyone tell me whether, if she does have lupus, this is something that she could have been made vulnerable for by the cancer or its treament? Is it curable and will it have any effect of her fighting the cancer? I'm sure she'll know the answers to this if lupus is confirmed but I want to know now.

Can anyone help? Thanks.

Dee

I'm no doctor...but Lupus is an autoimmune disease. There are two main kinds of lupus...one affects the skin, the other affects internal tissues/organs/systems.

The skin variety is called discoid lupus, I think.

My sister had SLE....systemic lupus erythematosis, the internal kind. It used to be that there wasn't a very effective treatment for lupus and those affected with SLE often didn't survive beyond 10 yrs. from diagnosis. This is no longer the case. If I remember right, part of my sister's tx for lupus was prednisone.

Here is a link with a lot of information. Some of the symptoms of lupus can be problematic...but everyone is affected differently...so don't panic about this dx...just educate yourself....and know that there are much more effective treatments today for lupus than there were when my sis was first diagnosed.

Good luck...here is the link: http://www.lupus.org/education/faq.html#1

Hi Nuts.