Stage IIIB NSCLC - Need Help and Hope from someone

Guest Sally

Hi This is my first time using this site and I was hoping to come in contact with anyone who has stories of hope and encouragement re: stage IIIb NSCLC. My 18 year old brother was recently diagnosed with this and we are still in shock. He has has 4 chemo sessions (carboplatin & gemcitabene) so far. He dealt with the chemo fine - no hair loss, nausea, etc. Just tired and uncomfortable. He has gained weight thank God. I need to hear from people desperately as I find this is helping me cope.

So sorry to hear that your brother has lung cancer. We have at least 3 people on the board that are very young. Jodi was diagnosed with Mesothelioma at 26, Jay is in his teens and is post op and had chemo, David P was diagnosed at 20 and he is 46 yrs old now! He is a hero! He has one lung and is entered in a bike race! ( hence the picture of him biking on his posts. ) Please share more details and we will try to help. Do you live here in the USA? Waiting to hear from you. Donna

Sally,

I am truly sorry to hear about your brother. There is a lot of support here. Please post any questions that you may have. I can guarantee that there is someone here that can give you accurate information. I cannot tell you how much love and caring is in this forum.

What area do you live in, ie... state, city. We are all survivors on this site, so please ask any questions you may have. Nothing is considered a stupid question. There is total respect for all people here.

Please let us know what is going on, we care. Special prayers have been said for your brother, you and your family.

God Bless

Karen

Praying for a "Cure",

By his Stripes, We are Healed

Dx'd 3-03 - 3a

3-25-03 to 5-15-03 radiation

4-01-03 to 5-20-03 taxol/carbo

7-23-03 started chemo taxol/carbo (every 3 wks)

Thanks to everyone who replied. It means so much to me. I am from Ireland. Here are a few more details about my brother:

- He turned 18 in February 2003.