Anyone Know Anything About Soy and LC?

Linda661

Ever just suddenly get a craving for something that you never have consumed before? Well, all of a sudden about 2 weeks ago, I decided to try soymilk and I immediately became hooked on it -- yep, just was walking past it in the grocery store and something in me was pulled (if you will) to get it and it seems to agree with me bigtime! I have never used the stuff before and really know nothing about it!

So, naturally, I've been investigating the role of soy products in health because of this, and I keep circling around evidence that it is beneficial in both the prevention of LC and can have life extending benefits in the treatment of LC. Some of the references seem tied to articles in JAMA and other reputable places, but I'm uncertain of my research, especially since I did a search in here and couldn't find much on it, plus most of my google searches on it take me to places I am unfamiliar with.

Some of this stuff seems to claim that it has protective factors for both men and women, active smokers and non-smokers......sounds wonderful, but I just don't know exactly where to hang my hat on this one. I'm finding claims of reductions in risk for LC of 40%+ in some places -- so I'm obviously curious!

Anyone have any expertise in this area?

Linda

Linda

I did a quick scan through some of the files I have here and came up with this. Hope it helps a bit..

Chris

'Phytoestrogens' May Reduce Lung Cancer Risk

Smokers, Non-Smokers Benefit From Certain Foods

Foods containing chemicals with weak estrogen-like activity appear to reduce the risk of developing lung cancer in smokers and non-smokers, according to new study results.

M. D. Anderson investigators reported in the Sept. 28 issue of the Journal of the American Medical Association that participants who ate the highest amount of foods with dietary “phytoestrogens” had a 46% reduced risk of developing lung cancer, compared to those who ate the lowest quantity.