Help is needed on how to share with grandkids

I am new to this discussion board. My mother was diagnosed with small cell lung ca in June, 2004. She has been through numerous courses of chemo, as well as gamma knife to the brain, and radiation to the lung. The cancer is still spreading and is now in her lymph system. She has chosen (which I completely support) to not continue any further treatment because it will only prolong the inevitable. My mother lives with me and my 2 children. Up until this point, I have not told them, and I need to know what to say. Theyare 7 and 4. The doctor has said it is month to month. I am going to move her bedroom downstairs next week because she is getting weaker. Any advice would be appreciated.

Wow Jessie, That's a tough one. First let me tell you how sorry I am that you have to go through any of this. I hope you don't ignore your own pain while you are preparing your children. I don't have any experience in this, just shooting from the hip here. I would try to be as honest as possible, without being too specific. Right now they're not going to undestand a lot, but eventially they will. Being truthful will help in the long run. Not knowing what your background is, it's hard to say. Perhaps they know about God and heaven. I would prepare them that she will be getting sicker. And try to help them make the time left special to both your mom and them. I will be praying for courage and strength for you during this time. Hugs, Liz