Abormal chest x-ray question

hopeandstrength

Hi everyone. Some of you may remember me,I was around here a lot during my dad's illness. He passed away almost 2 years ago. Here is my question: My mom had been sick for a couple of weeks, (actually, I had been too). She was getting better and then the other night had a bad cough and a sort of brochitis type thing going on. She also has a history of asthma. I took her to the ER and they gave her albuteral for the wheezing and a did a chest x-ray. They said it was clear before we left. I guess a radiologist looked again and said that there was some type of "squiggly" thing and told the ER doc that she should get a CT scan. I am a nurse at the same hospital and the ER doc called me to talk to me about it. He told me that about 1 in 10 in an abnormal x-ray is something serious, I think he meant cancer. He also stressed that the radiologist did not say "mass". So, I have not told my mom for fear of freaking her out until she actually has an appointment for the scan, but I am having a hard time knowing what to do. So, I actually have two questions: Do you think that there is a good chance that this is not serious, maybe scar tissue from asthma or something? And two: Should I tell my mom right away or wait until I talk to her primary doc on Monday. This is so scary for me. I'm trying not to freak, but losing my dad just two years ago from LC doesn't help. Also, I should say that my mom has been in great health. No SOB or coughing at all until this cold/bronchitis stuff. Thank you. I value all of yor opinions. I don't like keeping anything from my mom, but she has had so much anxiety since my dad's death that it is hard.

Hi again Hopeandstrength!