Getting Healthy

Hi Guys,

I decided to post this to make myself more accountable. Since my cancer journey began in 4'08 I have now gained 80 pounds. Something has got to change. So this weekend I joined a gym. I plan on starting water aerobics next week. This is the begining of my journey to get healthy! YEAH!

Dana

• 4 weeks later...

Good for you, Dana! My own journey to lose weight and get healthier started in 2003, after I suddenly put on a lot of weight after quitting smoking.

I studied nutrition, bought a stationary bike, and started slowly making changes to get me healthier. It was almost a year later, with not much weight lost, when I bought a bicycle and discovered that I loved riding as much as I had as a kid.

My diet is much improved these days, and I ride 140 miles a week on the bike. Every year, though, I see people start new exercise and diet programs, and give them up within a couple of months. The best advice I can give is to find the healthy changes in both nutrition and exercise that you can love, like, or at least be able to tolerate, long term.

But I don't think it ever gets easy. I'd been dragging around an extra 10 pounds for the last year and a half. It's amazing how hard it is to lose weight after cancer. The thought is always in the back of your head that lost weight = cancer back. We have scheduled scans to remind us that isn't necessarily so, though, and I'm almost back to my target weight again.

Good luck!

Good for you! I am almost back to the weight I want to be at. Put on about 35 pounds after chemo. Food tasted so bad during treatment, and when it finally tasted good again, oh boy! I had to change my relationship to food to succeed. I think that I "rewarded" myself with desserts, and chocolate when I never ate that stuff before. But I'm back at it and it feels good to have that extra weight gone.

Best wishes in this.

Judy in MI

Thanks Guys!