Pushing too hard

curlysue50

I have been working at regaining strength and health for the last several months after finding a treatment that is working to keep my stage 4 lung cancer at bay. I have regained so much of my health, but I still have damage from bone mets that have made finding an excercise routine a challenge. I have been swimming and doing

some water aerobics after walking aggravated hip and leg pain. I have been getting shoulder and arm pain after my workouts, which I had hoped would go away after the muscles got stronger. It is getting worse. I pushed pretty hard at my class yesterday. I went to bed feeling fine at 11 pm and woke up in terrible pain at 1:30am and sat up in the living room with a heating pad on my shoulder. Now at 9:30am, 2 Aleve, Icy Hot, and more time on the heating pad I am sore, but can function. Usually the pain will last 30 minutes or so, and the heating pad will loosen it up.

I read about so many lung cancer survivors who go on to run marathons, triathalons, bike and get back to such great physical condition. I guess I am naturally competive and feel like if others can do it, so can I. I have a hard time not pushing myself. I need to respect my limits and listen to my body. I don't want to be a whiny baby or feel like I am making excuses not to be accomplishing more with excercise. I don't want to feel guilty. I am so grateful to be alive, to be surviving. I don't want to waste time beating myself up for not trying hard enough. Despite my best intentions I am struggling a bit to not feel like I am giving up. Continuing to increase my pain levels does not seem like a good choice. I guess I need to accept and appreciate what I DO have and work with that.