Shocked!!!

Lisaturner

Hi everyone my name is Lisa I am 45 and got shock of my life. Let me fill you in I have been being treated for pneumonia for 3 months finally went to a different doctor who done an X-ray 12 days ago called the next day and scheduled a cat scan. Cat scan reveled a 10 x 4 cm mass in right long. Go into a biopsy last Monday to you have single cell cancer to chemo 3 days straight. 12 days roller coaster now I am scdhuled for scan Wednesday to see if it's any where else than another 3 day chemo again next week. I am shocked dr said single cell cancer survival rate is 20% that's why I am here I need support, I need inside information on other ways to beat this deadly disease. I am a very strong person but chemo will kick your tail three days in row about got me. Doctor said he is treating my cancer in lung as contained for now but the hope and bed side manner I really don't know about. I know cancer doctors are not suppose to give false hope and there very dry but at least compassion can be put in some. I just need friends right now and encouragement.

Good morning, Lisa.  I'm sorry that you have that diagnosis but glad  you are here.  I was diagnosed with Stage IV earlier this year and this site - and the wonderful contributors - have been a fantastic support system.  Along with following the treatment regimen set out by your medical team, the best weapon for fighting is your attitude.  Don't give in to the scary, dark thoughts.  Every day your feet hit the floor is a day to be celebrated.  Attitude is such a big part of this fight.  Surrounding yourself with a great support team - medical, family, friends - is also very important.