Newly Navigating Options

CheRub

Hello!

I am new to my diagnosis and forum! 
I recently had a right lower lobe lobectomy for a 2.3 cm malignant tumor. 13 lymph nodes were removed for pathology and one of them showed the EGFR mutation. The first oncologist I went to recommended 4 doses of chemotherapy over a 12 week period followed by 3 years of Tagrassi as an “insurance” plan against further mutations or microscopic cancer cells traveling in my body. I have an appointment for a second opinion on a few days at NYU Perlmutter Cancer Center. I am wondering why I need to kill all the good cells in my body with standard chemotherapy and weaken it “just in case” some microscopic cells escaped before taking Tagrassi. Has anyone had a similar experience? I am in my late 60’s and otherwise in excellent health. 
Thank you for any advice you can share!

Welcome CheRub!

As I understand your situation, your doctor wants you to have 4 cycles of conventional chemotherapy, and on completion, start Tagresso, a Targeted Therapy drug that is effective against certain forms of Adenocarcinoma with EFGR expression. I think the reasoning is conventional chemotherapy kills cancer cells while Tagresso stops existing cancer from progressing. Since the lymph node pathology showed metastatic disease, your physician wants to kill circulating cells before they form into a nodule.

That might be the reason but be sure to ask the Perlmutter Center physician to explain the reason for adjuvant conventional chemotherapy.

Stay the course.

Tom

Hi CheRub,

Your doctor's treatment plan(s) depend(s) on the specific EGFR mutation(s) you have. You can read about biomarker testing here.

Yes, the chemo will kill cancer cells. But it probably won't get all the un-seeable "seed" cells that are floating around. Unfortunately, this notion of seed cells currently seems to be a real puzzle for researchers.