Cancer wrapped around lung

Teardrop

I have been here before, my sister has lung cancer and taking chemo, 10/24 will be her last one, as she is getting a CAT scan to see what the chemo has done to the cancer.

Has anyone from this site, have cancer wrapped around the lung]? She has NSLC.I need to know how well she will do as she can't have it taken out or it will spread. I would appreicate if someone would give me information on this.

Love, Teardrop

Teardrop-

Sorry I cannot answer that specific question but wanted to say that this website is really great and I am glad you found us.

I am sure others will come along soon that can answer your question. Please keep us updated on your sisters progress.

Hugs - Patti B.

Hi teardrop. Maybe what is being referred to as "wrapped around the lung" is a pleural effusion. Many of us here have those including myself. I am not a technical expert but it is where the cancer is around the lung in the pleural lining. Many have fluid then build up in that area that needs to be drained. Please keep us posted on how you and your sister are doing.

Sandra

Dear SandraL,

Thank you so much for the reply back. I looked up Pleural Effusion and my sister may have this. She had pneumonia, then nsc lung cancer and spots in her brain that died due to the chemo. She also has a collaspe lung and cancer in her lymph nodes. She was told by the doctor that she has rheumatoid arthritis, he thought was cancer in the bones at first. She will get a CT scan in two weeks to find out the outcome of the chemo she was getting. As she took her last dose of chemo, and I'm praying the cancer doesn't grow and die or go to sleep. She has a cough is it from the chemo or pleural effusion?

Thank you so much for all your help in explaining this to me. I'm far away from her, and I call her everyday. I love her so much.

God Bless and Take Care.

Love, Teardrop