Listening to myself talk

jaminkw

I'm up late for me but I got that bag of steroids with my chemo today. I am running down now but thought I'd pop in and post. I haven't done a "sharing" post for awhile.

I was in therapy a long time before I studied to become a therapist. One thing I know though, there is always more to learn about ourselves. And along the way, I've learned a lot by listening and hearing what I'm saying to others. Last night at group, I was talking about fearing recurrence because it would mean a new chemo. New treatment scares me to death--will I lose my hair again, will my QOL tank again because it makes me feel awful. In the course of this discourse, I said I wanted to stay on Alimta forever. This from the woman who is always talking about hating being on maintenance and about having agreed with my onc that this time I'd stay on it. But in group I always add "for now anyway." One group member responded with "well, you never said that before." I surprised myself when it popped out.

I also talk alot about how being so positive just got me devastated when my cancer recurred after a year. But here I am, three weeks from my next scan feeling a little anxious but not too much yet. I am and have been feeling really well so....

Well, I think I can sleep now. Thanks for listening.

Judy in KW

Judy,I hope you got a good nights sleep. I dont know about you but it seems like bed time my problems seem to magnify. I lay in bed thinking about all the (what ifs) in my life that may not even happen. All my fears and resentments seem overwhelming when Im trying to sleep but the next morning they dont seem near as big as I made them out the night before. Thank you for all the sharing you do. I hope you know that you have helped many on this board.

Good morning Judy,