Father with Stage IV

LilyAnneLouis

Hi,

I am completely new to any forum like this. I'm really looking for comfort in how everyone handles this experience. My father was diagnosed with stage IV NSC lung cancer about a year ago. He started chemo and avastin in February and has rotated those treatments ever since. Recently he had fluid build up around his heart and had to have the fluid drained and then he began immunotherapy injections. Recently his cancer has impacted his larynx, cause one vocal chord to become paralyzed. (This makes eating, swallowing, breathing and coughing really difficult for him.) I am doing my best to be there for whatever he needs and really keep the focus on him. Lately, as he loses weight and the hospital visits become more and more frequent, I find myself so overwhelmed. How are you all coping with this? I'm spiritual and I meditate, but lately I haven't been taking care of that side of myself mentally. I'm exhausted and terrified and in my dad's most recent stint in the hospital he revealed to me how terrified he was. How are you family members and caretakers coping? I feel liked I could explode. My teaching has suffered, barely sleep and I'm anxious all the time (I already suffer from anxiety). I guess writing this has answered many of my own questions, but I feel like I should be talking to someone. The doctors made it clear that this is what the fight for prolonging life looks like in the world of lung cancer and I'm just having trouble coping. Sorry to make this so about my feelings. I will take any advice and I hope everyone the very best.

Lily

Lily,