Newbie here!

JeanHunt

Hi all! 

My name is Jean, I live in West Valley City, Ut.  West Valley is actually part of, and on the west side of Salt Lake City. 

I was diagnosed with stage IV NSCLC of the left lung on September 29, 2017.  I feel like the past 3 months have been a truly scream inducing roller coaster ride in the dark!  I'm sure you can relate.  But as a plus, I am  very fortunate to live near and get treatment from The Huntsman Cancer Institute.  

As of this date I have just received my 4th chemo treatment, with the out look that number 5 MAY be my last.  But, if I end up having 6 I'm OK with that.  I'd rather do a little "over kill" than stopping short of the goal my Doc is working to achieve.  :) 

In the next couple of weeks I will be:  having my 8th Thoro Centesis  (yes, 8th-Ugh),  a CT Scan as well as an MRI.  (Not all on the same day, thank goodness. LOL)  Then within a couple of days I'll see the Doc and afterwards get the 5th  chemo. 

I was initially told I had cancer by the Pulmonologist at the hospital, WHILE I WAS COMPLETELY ALONE!  Not only did the Doc not wait for my hubby to be present, he didn't even ask if I had family or someone to be with me.  The Oncologist at the hospital came in next, and basically did the exact same thing!  GRRR!!  What the heck happened to a careing bed side manner let alone "do no harm"???  My hubby was totally PISSED to say the least.  He told the nurse he wasn't taking me home or otherwise without BOTH doctors coming back and talking with him.  As hard as it is for the Docs to deliver that diagnosis, I don't understand their callous manner.  EVERY patient deserves compassion, especially when being given such life changing news.

diagnosis,

H Jean,