Tender Veins

BoBennett

Anyone have any info on veins hurting after chemo. Thursday when I was being infused the entry site in the back of my hand stated stinging, then it moved up my arm and at one point became quit severe. Finally they moved the port to the other arm. Today my hand and arm, as I follow the vein up, are hurting and beginning to swell. The entry point on the other arm is also tender. This has never happened before and it was the same, Gemzar, treatment I’ve been getting. I appreciate any information anyone has.

Thanks

Bo

Hi,

You should call your Onc's office. These drugs can be damaging to tissue and there is always the chance of infection. I'm not a doctor, but what you have described is exactly what my chemo nurse warned me to watch for and report immediately. Not trying to be an alarmist, but there are just some things that shouldn't be put off. Anything to do with your veins is one of them.

This is why I elected to have a port-a-cath implanted.

Thanks for the response. I did call the Oncs. office and my doc happened to be on duty and called me. He wasn’t concerned and said it was too early for an infection. He said if it gets any worse to call back or see my primary, bla bla bla. Its amazing how they scare the hell out you but when you call as instructed, its like, oh no problem.

I have heard also that chemo is bad stuff to have leak out. I would have liked to hear that they would put a saline or something in to dilute, but. I think once it is in and if it has leaked you are pretty much stuck with it, that’s just my thought though.

I also think, based a little on what a nurse told me, that because I have used the same vein for 4 months that the vein has become compromised, weakened, and maybe is leaking. That would answer why the pain is following the vein up through my arm.

I have been fortunate during my chemo to have more positive stuff and had little side effects so I guess this just goes with the territory.

Thanks

Bo