New LC Survivor

Guest pepperpike

Guest pepperpike

Finished my treatments one month ago and just now realizing I am a survivor. I was to have more chemo, but decided to cancel as I was just too weak and thought it would do more harm than good....doctors agreed. I've been fighting for 6 months....chemo....lung removal...more chemo and 30 radiation treatments. Really need to meet survivors....to realize that there is life after treatment .......I just don't recognize my life anymore....I'm tired and forgetful....I begin to go like I used to and then have 3 sick days.....just can't go .... Hoping to meet others to give and receive support..

The first year is a tough one, especially if you have had to have the"works" . Not only physically but emotionally. Many of of need a little prozac or something to get us over the hump. It so much worry and stress. The good news is now you are on the road to recovery. I hope in sharing with us you find the help you need . Donna

Thanks for posting,

I read a book when my mom was diagnosed called "There is no place like hope"..It was written by a woman who is a 12 year SURVIVOR of metastatic breast cancer. She endured a year of chemo and then went on to have a bone marrow transplant..which ultimately saved her life.

Anyway..its a great book..gave me hope and comfort...She wrote that even if you only live one day past your diagnosis..you have survived.

I found that to be very true.

So, please stay with us and keep posting. Fear, sadness, anger, rage, and happiness are all emotions we are used to.

You are not in this alone..

Laura

Guest DaveG

Pepper:

Just remember your body has gone through much and needs to repair. I remember quite well wanting to get back out and get back to my normal routine after my first surgery. I finally came to the realization that life after lung cancer sugery is different, as is life after cancer.