Financial Issues

stand4hope

Several people have asked about the things that need to be done when a loved one has passed. I'm posting this in General because what is done BEFORE is more important and what will make it easier after. And, I am a strong advocate that everyone should take care of these things below even if they are NED, cured, or don't have any disease at all. Don and I did these things long before he was diagnosed with cancer. I just wrote all of this below to one of our members in an email, so I thought it was a good idea to share it:

I cannot give legal advice. I am a paralegal and have done these things for others on my job, but have also done all these things first for my in-laws, then my parents, and of course Don. I have to be careful how I word things because my lawyer/boss/friend could get sued for malpractice if I give “legal advice”, and I could get sued for practicing law. He told me the way that I can help people without violating paralegal and lawyer ethics is to tell people what Don and I did in advance and what I did after.

The things we did applied only in Indiana. The procedures and laws are different in each state, but I have found they are almost always very similar.

Here are some things we did:

Before

Don and I had standard wills – everything went to each other first. If we died simultaneously, then everything went to our son. If our son was already deceased, then to our brothers and sisters share and share alike.

We had powers of attorney for each other (both durable and real estate).

We had blank HIPAA medical authorizations, signed but not dated, so we could get info on each other if it ever became necessary.

We had Living Wills and Appointment of Health Care Representative documents signed and dated.