My Heart is Breaking

Guest migizicny

Guest migizicny

Well on July 31 my Dad had a left pneumonectomy. Did well. Recovered well. Still had nagging low back pain. Scheduled to begin carbo/taxol on Aug. 31. 1st chemo cancelled as MD wanted bone scan due to back pain. Pain meds have increased consistantly since surgey. Now we find out he has bone mets to sacral and rt iliac wing also 5th rib. Icing on the cake...he goes Wednesday for a liver biopsy.

My heart is breaking. As an onc nurse, I have a feeling what is in store for him. I can't bear the thought of losing him or him being in pain.

What I would love from you all are encouraging stories. Has anyone faced all of this? What route did you take? Does anyone have any feedback on the Cancer Centers of America? Help please.

Lisa :cry:

My mom had some bone mets and the radiation really took care of it right off! She had very quick pain relief too. Looking back I wish my Step father had gone to a cancer care center, aparently Spokane (where we live) is great for heart problems but not very good for cancer treatment. I had no say in her care but if it were me, my Hubby and I already said we would go where ever and do what ever it took, and I think I would start with a second opinion from a Cancer Center of America.

It may not be convenient but I know we have one only 5 hours away in Seattle and I wish my mom would have gone there. They use nutrition and whole body/homeopathic care to keep your strength up to fight the disease along with traditional treaments and they have advanced radiology treatments. I sound like a commercial I know but I would be willing to try anything.

Prayers for your family! I can imagine as an oncology nurse you have so much info in your head swirling around, it must be very difficult!

Hi Lisa,

I'm so sorry to hear about your dad and unfortunately I can totally relate. I was also diagnosed with mets to my sacrum and spine.