Tears for Mom and Dad

I love this site you all make me feel like I am not alone, however somedays I feel like I can't think of anything but my parents. My Dad was just diagnosed with lc. non-sm cell. I am the youngest of 5 childrenn when I say youngerI am 13

than the sibling right befor me. I am a nurse and when we went to my Dad's first oncvisit they only wanted me and my parents in the exam room. my mom for some strange reason did want to stay. My dad asked about what stage he was in, and how long he has...I had known and didn't say anything I did not want to play doctor. anyway it was the hardest day of my life. watching my Dad's eye's and seeing him tear up...tryin hard to hold back all my tears..tyring to be "strong".

I am also the only child who lives in the same town. I have been spending everyday with them helping keep there mind off things. Everyone says you have to be strong....for your mom. Sometimes it sucks being the strong one.

Hi, it is so very hard to have to be the "strong" one, but I'm sure both of your parents are very thankful that you can be that person. I am also the strong one in my family. My mom doesn't want to ask any questions and I am also a nurse (married to a physician) and am all to well aware of what "may" be ahead for her. The key word however is "may" There are quite a few people on this site that have defied the odds. I think that all the statistics we read in books and on the internet are quite outdated. My mom has stage 4 squamous cell and if she were to read what the internet has to say about that, she would have given up the day she was diagnosed. Instead, she is doing GREAT and I am sure that mush of that has to do with hope and belief. I'm not sure what you and your dad were told, but please don't accept that as fact. Continue to read the stories on this site. I have found them a great souce of hope and inspiration to me. Shelley